Tyler Muth’s Blog

Technology with a focus on Oracle, Application Express and Linux

Suggest a Session for OOW: APEX Auth Schemes

Posted by Tyler Muth on June 23, 2008

Raj Mattamal, an old colleague, friend, and former APEX Team Member is trying to get his session voted into one of the few remaining slots for Oracle Open World via Oracle Mix. The title is “Security: Writing Custom Authentication Schemes for Application Express” and you can go here to vote for it.

Top 5 reasons you should vote for Raj vs someone else?

  1. This is actually a pretty interesting topic that comes up with almost every application.
  2. If you check out the mix link you’ll see he has endorsements from Tom Kyte, Mike Hichwa, and Carl Backstrom.
  3. Raj is entertaining. He could compare and contrast the Dewey Decimal System and the Library of Congress Classification and make it interesting.
  4. Raj is animated… more so than I can effectively describe here. You know the bouncing doc icons on a Mac? The ones that bounce up and down continuously to tell you something important? Now imagine one of them had arms and the important thing it was trying to tell you was “Security: Writing Custom Authentication Schemes for Application Express”… but not in an annoying Jack Russell Terrier sort of way, but more of dance… though not quite as good as these guys (warning!!! video with SOUND).
  5. He’s a dog person. Well more of a dog stalker since he doesn’t actually own one, but he likes dogs. In exchange for this endorsement, Raj has agreed to dog-sit for our dog the 3rd week of August. Oh, Raj, are you free the 3rd week of August? Don’t worry, just put her on the treadmill, kick back and relax.

6 Responses to “Suggest a Session for OOW: APEX Auth Schemes”

  1. stewstryker said

    I already voted for this session, even before I saw him give it last week at ODTUG. You’re absolutely right that he’s entertaining, but OMG he talks fast! I had trouble understanding him, not because of the accent or the sound system, though maybe because I was trying to take notes on my laptop. He made some great points, but I wished he’d dialed it back a little and said a bit less. Maybe I’m getting old but my brain couldn’t process his ideas quickly enough, especially to synthesize them and write down (and I’m a fast touch-typist).

    Having said all that, I did enjoy the presentation very much.

  2. DScott said

    I voted for this one as well, and also saw it last week at ODTUG. Raj introduced me to Apex (then HTMLDB) during the 10gR2 beta. He moves fast, but he brings great value to your time.

  3. Tahnks for posting

  4. Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on Furl telling that the info is quite decent. Thanks.
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

  5. […] Tyler and Dimitri have mentioned voting for Raj’s session but I just wanted to throw my endorsement […]

  6. sandrar said

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a comment