Tyler Muth’s Blog

Technology with a focus on Oracle, Application Express and Linux

I walked 1.27 Miles to My Gate at Dulles

Posted by Tyler Muth on July 23, 2008

This week a colleague (Chris Beck) and I flew to Boston to meet with a customer. Those of you familiar with Washing Dulles Airport know that you can walk to the “B” gates now via an underground tunnel.  We were at gate B64, which is in a new section of the B gates and one of the farthest points from the tunnel exit. While the walk was great exercise, it seemed like it took forever to get there, so just out of curiosity, I checked out the distance via GMaps Pedometer.  Here’s a direct link to my route if you’re interested.

google-maps_pedometer-dulles

It’s also a very cool tool if you’re a runner / walker and are curious about how far you went.

4 Responses to “I walked 1.27 Miles to My Gate at Dulles”

  1. Just a question? Did you take the moving walkways or the escalators at all? Because that effectively reduced the distance you actually walked under your own power.😉 If not, I congratulate you, I take the shortcut every time. Don’t forget the additional distance for the turnstiles going through security with the ever increasing security lines.

    Have a good one,
    Matt

  2. Christopher Beck said

    Don’t let Tyler fool you. He wanted to take the mobile lounge from terminal B. It was all my idea to walk it😀 After sitting in the airport during a 2 hour delay and then another 1.5 to 2 hours on the plane, a 1.25 mile walk was just what we needed.

  3. […] So anyway, after we landed, all I wanted to do was get the hell off the plane, back to my car ( parked over a mile walk away ) and home.  There was a glass of Merlot with my name on it there.  Well, I’m not sure if I […]

  4. […] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by spleenheart on 2008-12-05 I walked 1.27 Miles to My Gate at Dulles https://tylermuth.wordpress.com/2008/07/23/i-walked-127-miles-to-my-gate-at-dulles/ – bookmarked by […]

Leave a Reply

 
