Tyler Muth’s Blog

Technology with a focus on Oracle, Application Express and Linux

It’s about time!

Posted by Tyler Muth on April 20, 2007

Blogging has been a goal of mine for a long time. As a daily consumer of many great blogs, I’ve felt the need to start giving back at some point, but never knew where to start. I was always looking for that killer topic for my first post, but never found it. My goal was not just to contribute, but to become more involved in “the community”. Tom Kyte has been a big proponent of community and of all the things I’ve learned from him, this is probably the most important. When I was on the APEX development team, I spent a lot of time answering questions on the APEX forum. My goal was to help others learn about APEX, but I have to admit that I learned more from that community than anyone on that forum ever learned from me. There were a lot of challenging questions, requiring a lot of thought, research, and trial-and-error development. There were also a lot of creative alternatives to my solutions posted by other members of that community.

Now that I’ve got the introduction out of the way, it’s time to start posting something worth reading…

2 Responses to “It’s about time!”

  1. Tom said

    I love how you do your code examples. Is this something you wrote or is it a standard wordpress plugin? If it is something you wrote, it would rock as a wordpress plugin!

  2. Tyler Muth said

    Tom,

    Thanks, but I can’t take credit for the nice highlighting. This is a wordpress plugin which is actually an implementation of the Google Code “Syntax Highlighter” project located here.

    Tyler

Leave a Reply

 
