Tyler Muth’s Blog

Technology with a focus on Oracle, Application Express and Linux

Easier Linking for OTN Forums

Posted by Tyler Muth on July 16, 2008

Anyone who answers a lot of questions on the Oracle OTN Forums knows that a lot of the answers are just links to Documentation, Blog posts, or other Forum posts.  There are 3 tools that I use on a regular basis to make posting links easier.

Firefox “CoLT” (Copy Link Text) Add-on

CoLT is a great add-on that adds a number of options to the right-click menu, allowing you to copy the link title and URL as the exact BB Code syntax that you need to paste into the OTN Forums.

Firefox_Colt

Firefox “Web Developer Toolbar” Add-on

Web Developer adds a lot of great features for, well, web developers, but it also has a killer feature for linking.  Under the “Information” section there is the option to “Display Anchors”.  Many web pages, especially Oracle Documentation, include a hidden anchor tag for each sub-section.  This extension exposes all of these anchors allowing you to easily link directly to a particular section.

A Clipboard Extension or Manager

I use Ditto on Windows as it allows me to copy several links at a time then recall them and paste them into a forum post instead of switching back and forth for each link.  It also allows you to store popular text (links in this case) that you use often.  I’m sure there are comparable tools for Mac and Linux as well.

6 Responses to “Easier Linking for OTN Forums”

  1. Stew Stryker said

    Thanks for the tip on CoLT, I’ll check it out. As for a clipboard manager, I’ve used ClipMate for about 5 years now and based on my encouraging results, we got a multi-user license for our department. It’s not free like Ditto, but has a ton of useful features, including regular expression support in it’s search-and-replace wizard, so you can edit a large clip right in its window.

  2. execitiatry said

    Hello,
    My computer worked not correctly, too much errors. Please, help me to fix buggs on my computer.
    I used Windows 2003.
    Thanks,
    execitiatry

  3. mercedes benz used cars in Russelville

  4. Hello !

    I’m new on this forum so I introduce me…

    My name is Jason I’m 20 years old, I’m Belgian.

    I like: horses and dogs…

    Nice to meet you

  5. mcfcoccы said

    Привет всем форумчанам, народ как вам фильм – Запрещенный прием, стоит ли етот фильм вообще смотреть, ето круть или лажа полная ?
    Жду ваших оценок в опросе, оцениваем не стесняемся )

  6. aidelayflulty said

    Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds alsoI’m satisfied to seek out so many useful info here within the put up, we need develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

